austingreensqueen

Christmas Chicken | December 23, 2012

Crispy Chicken

Crispy Chicken

We had our Christmas meal today since I have to work all day Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. Every other day of the year, I insist on my sons eating the way I eat unless we go out and they choose what they want from a menu. In other words, I make what pleases me and they are welcome to share with me or they are on their own. The only vegetable we had for this Christmas meal was roasted broccoli, which was delicious by the way. Fresh broccoli, trimmed of it’s fibrous outer coating, tossed with olive oil and salt and placed on a pan on the bottom rack while the chicken was cooking. It was crispy and salty, still maintaining its crunchy texture.

This chicken was made with my sons in mind. I sent them some ideas for today’s meal and this is the one they gave their thumbs up. The boneless chicken is first dipped in milk, then coated with a layer of cheddar cheese, then pressed into Ritz cracker crumbs and baked in a pan for 35 minutes. To top it off, canned cream of chicken soup was warmed in a sauce pan with two tablespoons of butter and two tablespoons of sour cream. This recipe came from a Pinterest board I have because it looks so good in the picture, right? Only problem with eating this way is that it stimulates my appetite instead of satisfying it. Green foods and salads satisfy my appetite without making me want seconds. Breads, crackers and rice dishes make me eat in an out-of-control way. In my mind I’m thinking, “That’s so good I have to have more.” When I eat salad, I think, “That’s good but when it’s gone, I will not desire more.”

Now that I’ve made this “Crispy Chicken” and eaten it once, I will never make it again, at least not according to the recipe on Pinterest. First of all, it doesn’t need the cheese. That cheese was totally unnecessary. The buttery taste in the cracker crumbs was delicious without the cheese on the few pieces that I pan-fried because they wouldn’t all fit in the baking dish. Also, pan-frying cut the time and made them crispier than the ones in the oven. I don’t see any health benefit to baking when you wrap each piece in cheese then drizzle cream of chicken soup with butter and sour cream over the top. I’m going back to my crispy baked chicken with no coating. I’ll post that one soon. Simple, cheap and unbelievably good. Oh, heck, I’ll just go ahead and post the recipe without the picture.

Crispy Baked Chicken

1 pkg. chicken parts, dark meat preferred but will work with breasts

Salt and Pepper

Garlic Powder

Wash and dry chicken thoroughly. Season liberally with salt and pepper and garlic powder. Place on rack in roasting pan or on foil lined pan in 425 degree oven for 1 hour or until skin is crispy and fat is rendered. (45 minutes for breasts, which are less fatty).

Posted in Recipes

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

A topnotch WordPress.com site

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Simply Cooking

Life is difficult. But cooking is easy!

