austingreensqueen

Pinthouse Pizza | April 25, 2013

Pinthouse Pizza

Now that my children are grown, I figured I would never eat pizza again if I didn’t want. There was a time when we had pizza almost every week in our family. It’s embarassing to say, because I tried to raise my kids to eat healthy. That being said, to pick up the phone on a Friday night after a busy week is just too tempting. I have had a lot of bad and mediocre pizzas in my day, mostly pepperoni. You know how pepperoni is the universal pizza, everybody likes it? I always wanted one covered in vegetables but I was always outvoted. I have to say that one of the best pizzas I have ever had was a deep dish pizza at Lou Malnati’s in Chicago. I went there totally prepared to be underwhelmed because I don’t like a bready pizza. Much to my surprise, the crust is thin. It’s the dish that is deep and it is full of stuffings: in my case, vegetables. I got the Lou which is meatless and it was incredibly good. A truly memorable pizza, I must say. The picture is on the right.

The Lou at Lou Malnati's Chicago Pizza

The Lou at Lou Malnati’s Chicago Pizza

So there have been very few times in Austin that I have had what I think of as a great pizza.  I invited a few of my friends to go out for dinner so I could blog about a new restaurant and my friend suggested we go here, to Pinthouse Pizza. We brought our 20 something year old children so there were 6 of us all together.

The building has a massive red brick facade with a few picnic tables out front and lots of communal tables inside. There is a lot of parking but it fills up. The Pit Barbecue is right next door so be careful not to park in their designated spaces or you might come out and find your car is gone.

The first thing you notice when you walk in is the bar and the metal casks that store the beer. I’m going to have to ask Joe Mohrfeld, the brewmaster, what you call those things but they are massive. You see those at independent breweries.

One of the people in our group eats a gluten-free diet so he went with the nachos. The nachos looked so good, I want to go back for them myself. Chicken, jalapeños, black beans, green onions, Roma tomatoes, cheese, black olives, salsa, queso, sour cream, avocado, and tortilla chips. They’re very hearty for $6.50.

My salad, the Pinthouse Salad, came in a metal bowl with plastic utensils. Although I would rather have a real knife and fork, that is not a big deal. This salad made me so happy. It was all baby spinach, dried cranberries, red onions, blue cheese, candied pecans and poppy seed dressing. Not exactly a low carb salad but it was so good. Sugar, how I love you, even on my salads.

My pizza choice was the Milano because it was exactly what I wanted and at 7.75 for a small, I could eat the whole thing myself. There are three price points for each pizza and I got the small one for 7.75, which is a bargain. Ingredients included olive oil, cheese, artichokes, Kalamata olives, prosciutto, and fresh oregano. I’m not kidding. Fresh oregano! My friend had the Margherita pizza which is basically sauce, fresh mozzarella, cherry tomatoes, and basil. Fresh basil! Oh my gosh, and I’ve been eating Pizza Hut all these years. Their only complaint was that there was not a whole wheat choice. However, they liked their pizza and there was not a drop of it left at the end.

A trivia game ensued before we left. My apologies to Pinthouse Pizza for not posting pictures I took that night. I don’t know where my cable is which connects my camera to my computer but as soon as I can, I will post pictures of their pizza!

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

A topnotch WordPress.com site

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Simply Cooking

Life is difficult. But cooking is easy!

